"Considering the enormity of the clean up and sanitation operations in the Srinagar Municipal Corporation areas, the government has ordered that the Srinagar city shall be divided into three zones," he said.

Senior officers shall be put in-charge of each zone to perform the tasks as may be assigned to them by the Housing and Urban Development Department, the spokesman said.

"The officers to head these three zones are Secretary to Government in Higher Education Department Sheikh Mushtaq Ahmad (IAS), Commissioner SMC GN Qasba and Managing Director, J&K Cable Car Corporation Tufail Mattoo," he said.

The spokesman said the Housing and Urban Development Department shall work out the details in this regard immediately.

The special teams constituted by the government will have to deal with heaps of mud in flood-hit areas and garbage in the areas not affected by the natural calamity.

Latest News from State News Desk