Though the poll scenario presents a multi-corner contest, the battle of the ballot will be between AIADMK's nominee S Valarmathi and DMK's N Anand, even as BJP and CPI(M) are trying their luck.
The Election Commission has made all arrangements for the peaceful conduct of the bypoll, in which an estimated 2.70 lakh electorate are expected to exercise their franchise across 322 polling stations.
The bypoll was necessitated to fill up the vacancy caused following the disqualification of former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa's conviction in a corruption case.
The outcome could well impact the political alignment for the next year's assembly elections and be a test for the ruling party's popularity, which won 37 out of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu last year.
Jayalalithaa, seeking to retain the seat for her party appealed to voters to support her party candidate considering "as if she herself was contesting."
The situation that necessitated the bypoll was caused by "conspirators" who could not tolerate the swelling support of the people, she said.
Opposition DMK and BJP are trying hard to defeat the ruling AIADMK in this bypoll.

Latest News from State News Desk