BJP allies TDP and Shiv Sena have also named Y S Chowdhary and Anil Desai, respectively, for induction in the Council of Ministers. Both the Rajya Sabha members are expected to be made Ministers of State.
The swearing-in of the new ministers will take place at 1.30 PM on Sunday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Before the swearing-in ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is hosting a breakfast for the newcomers into his ministry.
This will be the first reconstitution of the Ministry by Modi since coming to power in May. The current strength of the Council of Ministers is 45 -- 23 of Cabinet rank, including the Prime Minister, and 22 Ministers of State. Of the 22 MoS, 10 hold Independent Charge.
59-year-old Parrikar, who is tipped to be the new Defence Minister, resigned on Saturday as Goa Chief Minister to enable his shift to the Centre. The Defence portfolio is currently held as additional charge by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

An IIT-M alumnus, Parrikar will be the first Cabinet Minister from Goa and shares a good rapport with the Prime Minister.
Naqvi (57), a prominent Muslim face of the BJP, returns to the Union Council of Ministers 15 years after his stint as MoS Information and Broadcasting in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. A member of Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh, he is currently the Vice President of BJP.
Among the new inductions are Vijay Sampla, a dalit and a first time Lok Sabha member of BJP from Hoshiarpur in Punjab and possibly former RJD leader Ram Kripal Yadav, elected on BJP ticket from Patna.

Latest News from India News Desk