The constituencies spread across lower and central Assam will have 12,699 polling stations where 1,04,35,271 voters will be able exercise their franchise. With over 50,000 polling personnel deployed for the second phase, security has been tightened across the constituencies, particularly those in four Bodoland Territorial Area districts where NDFB(S) ultras are active and in Goalpara district which witnessed a bomb blast recently.
Strict vigil was being maintained in Dhubri district bordering Bangladesh and Baksa sharing border with Bhutan. The polling will witness mainly a triangular contest among the ruling Congress, AIUDF and the BJP-AGP-BPF alliance.
Congress is contesting in 57 seats, opposition AIUDF in 47, BJP in 35 while its allies--the Bodo Peoples' Front in 10 and the Asom Gana Parishad in 19. The CPI(M) is contesting in nine seats, the CPI in five, and Independents in 214.

Latest News from State News Desk