New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo declared a state of emergency covering counties of Suffolk, Nassau, Richmond, Kings, Queens, New York, Bronx, Westchester and Rockland, media reported.

Cuomo also activated the State Emergency Operations Center in a bid to monitor the major winter storm that is expected to bring moderate to heavy snow and strong winds to Long Island, New York city and the Lower Hudson Valley.

It is also anticipated to usher in extremely cold temperatures statewide.

"This winter storm will bring a one-two punch of snow and extreme cold. I urge all those in the affected regions to exercise caution, and avoid travel if possible," he said.

"State resources are deployed to clear snow and help those impacted by the storm, but above all it is important that New Yorkers remain safe both during and after the storm," he added.

The National Weather Service has issued a winter storm warning from noon on Tuesday until 6 am on Wednesday for the five boroughs of New York City, the northern suburbs, all of Long Island, most of New Jersey, and southern and eastern Connecticut.

It warned that snow accumulations could top out at 8 to 12 inches, prompting many schools across the region to send students home early so they do not get stuck in the worst of the weather.

New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio also urged people to use mass transit or to stay indoors if possible so the sanitation crews can work to clear the streets.

Over 2,000 sanitation workers have been fully mobilized to work around the clock.

Heavy snow swept through East Coast of US on Tuesday, causing over 2,000 flights into, out of and within US to be cancelled.


Latest News from World News Desk