Patna: In order to overhaul the party organization, the Communist Party of India has elected S Sudhakar Reddy as its new general secretary in place of AB Bardhan who held the post since 1997. Reddy was elected unopposed to the post in party’s 21st national conference here on Saturday.

CPI spokesman Kumar Atul Anjaan told that the national council of the party met here at and elected unopposed S Sudhakar Reddy as its national general secretary.

Two-time MP Reddy was Chairman of the Standing Committee on Labour in the 14th Lok Sabha. He also got elected to the 12th Lok Sabha.  

The party is struggling hard to revive its political ground in the national level. The party’s performance in the successive parliamentary and assembly elections are on wane.

The national council also elected eight others as members of central secretariat of the party, Anjaan said.

They are A B Bardhan, Gurudas Gupta, D Raja, Amarjit Kaur, Atul Anjan, Shamim Faizi, Pannian Raveendran and Ramendra Kumar.

Reddy who hails from Andhra Pradesh was member of Lok Sabha twice from Andhra Pradesh.

Among the CPI national executive members are A B Bardhan, S Sudhakar Reddy, Gurudas Dasgupta, D Raja, Shameem Faizee, Amarjeet Kaur, Atul Kumar Anjaan, Ramendra Kumar, Pannian Ravindran, Promod Gogoi besides Nagendra Nath Ojha, Azeez
Pasha, Pallab Sengupta, Annie Raja and K Narayana.

D Pandian, R Nallakannu, C Divakaran, Kanam Rajendran, C R Bakshi, Manjukumar Majumder, Dr Kango, Dr Nara Singh, Probodh Panda, Bhubaneswar Mehta, Joginder Dayal and K E Ismail would also be national executive members, Anjaan said.

V G Somasundaram has been elected as the treasurer. Gaya Singh has been elected as chairman and Govind Pansare as secretary to CCC, Anjaan said.