Hyderabad: Having moved ahead in the race for a playoff spot after a comfortable victory over Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad will now need to beat the beleaguered Kolkata Knight Riders in their final Pepsi IPL league match on Sunday to finish among the top four.
Sunrisers have 18 points from 15 matches and they need to win the match on Sunday to enter the play-offs.
KKR's title defence ended after their loss to Pune Warriors on May 15 but they would look to finish the season on a victorious note, a fact acknowledged by Sunrisers chief coach Tom Moody after his team's win over Rajasthan.
Though consistency has been a problem for KKR, they have some seasoned players in the form of captain Gautam Gambhir, all-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Jacques Kallis, Ryan ten Doeschate and L Balaji.
KKR messed up their chase against Pune Warriors on May 15 though Pathan and ten Doeschate were in impressive form and almost took their team to victory with a 98-run partnership.
Meanwhile, Sunrisers have a lethal bowling attack comprising world's best Dale Steyn, wily spinners Amit Mishra and Karan Sharma, Sri Lanka's Thisara Perera and West Indies captain Darren Sammy -- all of whom have been a nightmare for rival batsmen in this edition of IPL.
The hosts took full advantage of the wicket in Hyderabad that supports the bowlers and even a modest total became tough for the rivals to chase.
Except for the match against Chennai Super Kings on May 8, the Sunrisers have not lost a single game at home thanks to their combined bowling prowess.
The most recent proof of this was the Rajasthan Royals collapse at 113 while chasing 137 runs.

 The Teams (from):

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Cameron White, Akshat Reddy, Amit Mishra, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Ashish Reddy, Biplab Samantray, Cameron White, Chris Lynn, Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, Ravi Teja, Hanuma Vihari, Ishant Sharma, Karan Sharma, Nathan McCullum, Pathiv Patel, Prasant Padmanabhan, Quinton de Cock, Sachin Rana, Shikhar Dhawan, Sudeep Tyagi, T Sargunam, Thisara Perera and Veer Pratap Singh.
Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (C), Manvinder Bisla, Yusuf Pathan, Jacques Kallis, Rajat Bhatia, Laxmipathy Balaji, Sarabjit Ladda, Brad Haddin, Debabrata Das, Iqbal Abdulla, Brett Lee, Ryan McLaren, Eoin Morgan, Sunil Narine, Sumit Narwal, Suchitra Senanayake, Pradeep Sangwan, Shami Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Ryan ten Doeschate, Manoj Tiwary, James Pattinson.


Latest News from Sports News Desk