New Delhi: The Supreme Court is set to examine ‘cash for vote’ scam, during the trust vote faced by the UPA government in July 2008, after former Chief Election Commissioner J M Lyngdoh filed a petition seeking Special Investigation Team (SIT) probe in the case.

A bench of justices Aftab Alam and R M Lodha asked senior counsel Rajeev Dhawan to place on record the FIR relating to the case so that the matter could be considered for hearing.

The petition filed through counsel Prashant Kummar and Anurag Sharma on behalf of Lyngdoh alleged though the entire nation was shocked by the spectacle of three BJP MPs displaying wads of currency notes in Parliament as bribe money to vote in favour of the UPA during the 2008 trust vote no action has so far been taken against the guilty persons.

According to the petition, though the incident had occurred on July 22, 2008, neither the Delhi Crime Branch which registered an FIR nor the chairman of the Joint Parliamentary Committee headed by Kishore Chandra Deo, which inquired into the allegation, had so far taken any tangible step to initiate action against those responsible for the scam.

Lyngdoh urged the Apex Court to direct the government to set up an independent SIT to probe the allegations and try to complete the investigations within six months. He pleaded the SIT chief should be given absolute powers and independence to choose the best officers for the probe.

Dhawan, in response to a query, told the bench that they could not collect the copy of the FIR as despite their best efforts like invoking the RTI Act the government was not willing to provide the copy.

However, the bench remarked, "You have approached a wrong person. Why don't you approach the court concerned"?

The senior counsel then agreed to avail the option and sought two weeks adjournment, to which the bench agreed.

On July 22, 2008, three BJP members had placed Rs one crore in the Lok Sabha alleging they were given to them by floor managers of the UPA government to secure their support during the no-confidence motion after Left parties withdrew their support over the Indo-US Nuclear deal.