Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Surya Pratap Sahi is pitted against Samajwadi Party stalwart and former UP Minister Shakir Ali, Sanjay Singh Saithwar of ruling BSP and Congress candidate Suyash Mani Tripathi on Pathardeva seat in Deoria district.

The state BJP president had to switch over his traditional seat of Kasya on account of its delimitation.

Pathardeva is a newly created constituency after delimitation in the bastion of Gorakhpur BJP MP Yogi Adityanath. About ten districts of this region dominated by the MP are popularly known as Yogiland. Adityanath being alienated with the party leadership over ticket distribution could disturb the poll prospects of the state party chief, Shahi. Support of Yogi’s Hindu Yuva Vahini is said to be vital for the success of a BJP candidate in this region but entry of the two of its members Markandey Tiwari and Rana Pratap Singh in the electoral fray for the seat has added to the woes of UP BJP chief Shahi.