Patna: BJP leader and Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi are among the four party candidates whose names were announced for the biennial elections to Bihar legislative council.

This would be Modi's second consecutive term in the House if he is elected. The other three candidates are -- state BJP vice-president Lal Babu Prasad, state party secretary Satyendra Narayan Kushwaha and Mangal Pandey. The names were decided at the party's central election committee meeting in New Delhi on Tuesday, chaired by party president Nitin Gadkari.

Nitish, Rabri to file nomination today

Bihar Chef Minister Nitish Kumar and former Chief Minister Rabri Devi is all set to file their nomination for the Upper House of the state legislature on Wednesday.

Out of total 11 council members retiring, six belong to the ruling JD(U) -- Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh, Rural Works Minister Bhim Singh, Deputy leader in the council Ramashray Prasad Singh, party spokesman Sanjay Singh and Upendra Prasad.

The last date of filing nominations is April 16. April 19 has been fixed as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures. While polling would be held between 9 am to 4 pm on April 26, counting would start at 5 pm the same day.