Singh, who has taken over as the fifth chief of the transparency watchdog, is the second woman to be appointed to the post after Deepak Sandhu.

A panel comprising Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Union Law Minister Kapil Sibal appointed Singh as the CIC.

She was administered the oath of office by President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Singh became an Information Commissioner in the Central Information Commission on September 23, 2009. She had joined Indian Administrative Service in 1972 and was allocated Jharkhand cadre. She retired from IAS on May 31, 2009.

Singh has served as Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. She has also served as Secretary in the ministries of Panchayati Raj and Development of the North Eastern Region.

Satyananda Mishra, A N Tiwari and Wajahat Habibullah have also served as CIC.


Latest News from India News Desk