The senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader was followed by party colleague Union Minister for Water Resources and Ganga Rejuvenation Uma Bharti and Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, who also took oath as the Member of Parliament in Sanskrit.

Their party colleague and Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda took his oath in Kannada and so did Minister of Chemicals and Fertilisers Ananth Kumar. They both come from Karnataka.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday took oath as an MP of the newly-elected 16th Lok Sabha. The oath was administered by Protem Speaker Kamal Nath.

Besides Modi, veteran BJP leader LK Advani, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Surface Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari were also sworn-in as MPs along with others.

The 16th Lok Sabha has 315 first-time MPs in a House of 543 elected MPs, the highest in the last 30 years, according to data compiled by PRS Legislative, a research body that tracks the working of Parliament.

The new House also reflected the new reality -- of BJP and NDA's ascendance and Congress decimation in the polls.

With only 44 members, the Congress strength is less than a fourth of its numbers in the last House.


Latest News from India News Desk