Chennai: The by poll to the Pudukottai Assembly constituency will be held on June 12, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday.

By poll to the constituency has been necessitated following the death of CPI legislator S P Muthukumaran in a road mishap on April one. Counting of votes will take place on June 15.

The ruling AIADMK has fielded V R Karthik Thondaiman, Pudukottai Municipality Chairman and District MGR Youth Wing Leader, as its nominee for the by poll.

The AIADMK has already started warm-up exercises for the by poll with senior leaders of the party convening a district- level meet in Pudukkottai sometime back.

In the 2011 Tamil Nadu elections, Muthukumaran of CPI in the AIADMK-led alliance defeated DMK candidate Periyannan Arasu but AIADMK and CPI parted ways for the civic polls.

According to the poll schedule, filing of notification will begin on May 18 and the last date for filing papers is May 25. Scrutiny will be done on the following day and the last date for withdrawal of nominations will be May 28.