Guwahati: Tarun Gogoi was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Assam for third consecutive term by Governor JB Patnaik on Wednesday.

Governor JB Patnaik administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 76-year-old leader at a simple function at the Raj Bhawan. Gogoi took the oath in Assamese.

He would announce the list of his council of ministers later this week.

Gogoi won a thumping majority in the recently concluded Assembly polls with Congress winning 78 of the 126 Assembly seats. Its ally, the Bodoland People's Front, won 12 seats.

Gogoi, who was unanimously elected Leader of Congress Legislature Party in Assam, was on Tuesday invited by Governor Janaki Ballav Patnaik to take oath as Chief Minister. Other ministers will be chosen later after consultation with the Congress leaders in Delhi.

It's a big day in Kerala as well where the Congress-led UDF government will take charge. Chief Minister-designate Oommen Chandy will be sworn along with six other ministers.

The alliance partners of the United Democratic Front (UDF) alliance have arrived at a decision on Cabinet berths.

The Congress will get 9 Cabinet berths apart from Chief Minister's; the Muslim League will get four Cabinet berths and the Kerala Congress (Mani) will have two ministers.

Other allies like SJ(D), RSP(B), KC(J) and KC(B), will get 1 Cabinet berths each.