"Special category status is needed for all backward states in the country," Gogoi said at a press conference later in connection with the memorandum. "We used to get funds that were needed for development works," he said.

But now the Centre has stopped the special category status for all eight northeastern states -- Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura -- besides Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh, he said.

"Under the status, there were some schemes that were 100 percent Centrally funded while most were under the 90:10 funding pattern," Gogoi said. "Now that has been changed to 50:50 in some cases and 70:30 in others. There is no 100 percent Centrally funded scheme," he said, adding that he had brought this to the notice of both PM Modi and Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley more than once.

The Assam Chief Minister said 12 programs, components or schemes which received budgetary support from the Centre till 2014-15, have now been been completely delinked from Central support.

Latest News from India News Desk