The 3G network coverage will be extended to a total of 53 towns across Karnataka, including Shimoga, Bellary, Tumkur, Chikmaglur, Raichur, Mandya and Madikeri, a company statement said.

The company already has 3G service in 10 major towns of Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Manipal, Udupi, Hubli, Belgaum, Dharwad, Hospet and Gulburga.

The telco plans to enhance the 3G network coverage and presence in the region by adding an additional 1,000 cell sites to increase its network footprints to over 3,100 cell sites by July 31, it added.

"With the network expansion we are now poised for a healthy growth in terms of better revenue and increasing profitability... By increasing the footprint, customers can now avail our portfolio of 3G services at affordable rates," Tata Docomo's Mobility Business Unit Head (Karnataka Circle) Rohit Tandon said in the statement.

In Karnataka, Tata Docomo offers 100 MB of 3G data absolutely free to new customers. It will offer 1 GB 3G mobile Internet at Rs 155 with validity of 30 days.


Latest News from Business News Desk