TDP candidate Ambati Hari Prasad won the by-elections by a margin of 61,644 votes over his nearest rival. Out of 92,309 votes polled in the by-election held on August 21, Prasad secured 75,282 votes. Independent candidate S. Rajasekhar got 13,638 votes while another independent, R. Subrahmaniam, polled 3,389 votes.

The by-polls were necessitated by the death of sitting legislator Ambati Brahmaiah of the TDP. The main Opposition party fielded his son Hari Prasad. Keeping with the tradition, the ruling Congress party,

Opposition YSR Congress and other major parties did not field their candidates to ensure the unanimous selection of Prasad. However, the contest became inevitable as the two independent candidates refused to take back their nominations.

Only 47 percent polling was recorded in the by-election. Voters are low on enthusiasm because of the ongoing political turmoil in Seemandhra, over the Centre's decision to carve out a separate Telangana state.


Latest News from State News Desk