New Delhi: The demand for a separate Telangana state paralysed proceedings in the Lok Sabha till Wednesday afternoon. Members of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Congress vied with each other to raise the delicate issue.

The House witnessed three adjournments till 2 PM as TRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao and his party colleague M Vijaya Shanthi, repeatedly stormed the well to press for their adjournment motion on the issue.

Several Congress members, including M Jagannath, Madhu Goud Yaskhi, Poonam Prabhakar and Sarvey Satyanarayana, raised slogans like 'Jai Telangana', while TDP member from Adilabad, Ramesh Rathod joined the TRS members in the well.

Leader of the Opposition Sushma Swaraj drew the attention of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to the sentiments being expressed by the members demanding a separate state. She made a strong plea for a separate Telangana state, saying her party would support a bill for the same if the government moved it in the current session.

As soon as the House assembled for the day, the TRS members and Congress MPs stood in their seats raising slogans, even before Speaker Meira Kumar could take up the Question Hour.

She adjourned the House first for about 30 minutes and again till noon 2 PM as the din continued.



READ MORE: Pro-Telangana MLAs disrupt AP Assembly