The newly-elected 21 MLAs of the Congress met and elected Jana Reddy as their leader in the presence of AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh, former Union Minister Vayalar Ravi and AICC observer Thirunavukkarasu.
Jana Reddy, who has the distinction of being the longest-serving minister in (united) Andhra Pradesh, will also become the Leader of Opposition in the Telangana Assembly as the Congress emerged as the second largest party in the 119-member House.
Thanking his colleagues for electing him as the leader, Reddy said he would contribute his part for the development of Telangana.
"We shall extend all co-operation to the TRS government for the development of the new state," he added.
The MLCs met separately and elected Srinivas as their leader. Srinivas previously served as a minister and also president of the Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee for two terms.


Latest News from State News Desk