New Delhi/Hyderabad: A day after the Group of Ministers (GoM) on Telangana was reconstituted, the government on Wednesday said that its meeting headed by Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, will be held on Friday.

Apart from Shinde, Defence Minister AK Antony, Finance Minister P Chidambaram, Minister of Health and Family Welfare Ghulam Nabi Azad, Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas M Veerappa Moily and Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh are the members of the reconstituted GoM.

Minister of State for Personnel and Prime Minister's Office V Narayanasamy will be the Special Invitee in the reconstituted GoM which will look into the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and formation of Telangana.

Apart from Antony, the Union Ministers who were newly inducted in the GoM are Azad, Moily and Ramesh. The Union Ministers dropped from the GoM are Law Minister Kapil Sibal, Water Resources Minister Harish Rawat, Urban Development Minister Kamal Nath, Road Transport Minister Oscar Fernandes, Power Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia and Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission Montek Singh Ahluwalia besides Raju.

Seemandhra continues to grope in dark as electricity staff refuse to mellow down

Several parts of Seemandhra remained without power for the fourth consecutive day on Wednesday, with electricity employees continuing their indefinite strike to protest the Centre's decision to divide Andhra Pradesh.

Curfew relaxed in violence-hit Vizianagram for two hours

Majority of 13 districts of Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra) were still in dark, causing severe hardships to people. Medical services were the worst hit with many government and private hospitals postponing surgeries.

Shinde rules out imposition of President Rule in AP

Strike by doctors of government-run hospitals added to patients' woes. Industrial production has come to a standstill while airports at Visakhapatnam and Vijayawada are running on back-up power.

Jaganmohan Reddy's fast enters fifth day

Movement of trains was affected due to the strike. About 4,000 Megawatt generation has come to a halt due to the strike by the employees at all major thermal and hydel power plants.

Government reconstitutes GoM on Telangana

The employees were continuing their strike following the failure of talks with Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Tuesday night. The Joint Action Committee of Seemandhra electricity employees refused to end the strike without a firm assurance that the state would not be divided.

Another round of talks between the government and the JAC leaders is likely later in the day. The Chief Minister has appealed to employees to call off the strike in view of the hardships it is causing to the people.

The indefinite strike by over six lakh government employees, teachers and transport workers continued. Government offices and schools remain shut while buses of state-owned road transport corporation are off the roads since August 12.

Protests against the Centre's decision continued in Seemandhra. Protestors including employees, teachers and students took our rallies, formed human chains, undertook hunger strikes and staged sit-ins to demand the centre to keep the state united.

Talks began in Hyderabad between leaders of striking government employees and the Chief Minister. Kiran Kumar Reddy called the leaders of Andhra Pradesh Non-Gazetted Officers (APNGOs) Association for discussions after the talks between APNGOs Association and a group of ministers on Tuesday failed to make a breakthrough.

Cabinet approves creation of Telangana as 29th state


Latest News from India News Desk