Melbourne, Jan 03 (Agencies): Batting icon Sachin Tendulkar and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni were among the four Indian cricketers who found a place in former Australia captain Ian Chappell's '2010 World XI', which did not feature a single Aussie.

Dashing opener Virender Sehwag and pace spearhead Zaheer Khan were the other two Indians in the XI.

"Four years ago the Australian cricket team was cock-a-hoop. They'd regained the Ashes and had accentuated their superiority by smashing England at the MCG on the way to an eventual 5-0 series victory. Now the team is in tatters and it is best illustrated by a comparison of World XIs chosen at the end of the calendar year," Chappell wrote in his column for 'The Daily Telegraph'.

"In 2006, Australia had six players in the XI, with Brett Lee 12th man. In the 2010 side, no Australian made the XI and Shane Watson is the 12th man," he pointed out.

"It's been a slippery dip for Australia since the retirement of bowlers Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath. The ride gathered pace when Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden called it a day. They have now hit the sand pit because of the struggles of the one player who kept the brake on the downhill ride, Ricky Ponting," he further explained.

"A dashing opener, who can win a game in the opening session of a Test. The most dangerous batsman in world cricket," he described Sehwag adding, "Unlike Ponting, Tendulkar defied the advancing years and enjoyed a tremendous resurgence. He even rediscovered the art of dominating bowlers."

Explaining the reasons for picking Dhoni and Zaheer, Chappell said both have been consistent in their respective roles. "Dhoni has batted consistently, scoring runs when India needs them and doing an adequate job with the gloves. He's a calm leader with some flair," Chappell said.

"Zaheer is a left-armer who has developed into a dangerous bowler with both the new and old ball. He performs well against good opposition," he added.

Among others who found a place in the XI were South African captain Graeme Smith, their middle-order mainstay Hashim Amla, prolific all-rounder Jacques Kallis, the aggressive AB de Villiers and tearaway pacer Dale Steyn.

Chappell picked England's Graeme Swann as the spinner in the XI, the pace attack of which is spearheaded by the feisty Steyn with England's Jimmy Anderson for company.