New Delhi: India-Australia clash has always been an electrifying one for cricket fans across the globe. But there are some scintillating clashes that remain etched in the minds of the people. Let’s recall those magnificent games ahead of India-Australia Test series.

The historic Kolkata Test victory (2001)

India was already down 0-1 in the three Test series against Australia but the Indians came up with a memorable performance to win the Test and level the series. Kangaroos put up a challenging total of 445 but in reply, India were bundled out for a paltry 171 and was also asked to follow on by Steve Waugh. No one expected India to win the game. But then came in Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman who together played an inning that changed India’s cricketing fortunes forever. Their 376-run partnership helped India win the game by 171 runs. Harbhajan Singh also registered India's first ever Test hat-trick and bagged total of 13 wickets in the match. Finally, India won the series 2-1. 

The heroic victory at Adelaide (2003)

After the first Test ended with a draw, India bounced back and defeated Kangaroos by 4 wickets in Adelaide and also took a lead in the four-match Test series. It was the first time in the history when India took lead in the series on Australian soil. Rahul Dravid played a heroic inning of 233 runs which took India a step closer to victory. VVS Laxman also scored 148 runs in the same inning.  The rest assault was done by Ajit Agarkar when the paceman grabbed six wickets in the second innings leading India to a 4 wicket victory over the Australians.

Victory post Sydney controversy (2008)

In January, 2008, poor umpiring by Steve Bucknor and Anil Kumble’s remarks at Australian cricket tensed the atmosphere. Indian fans too were quite upset over the incident. Following the controversies, BCCI dared to quit the tour. The Indian side was desperate to avenge the wrongdoing in next match scheduled at Perth and keeping that in mind India floored Aussies by 72 runs in third Test. This win was very special for India as the Australians were considered to be invincible at bouncy tracks of Perth.  

The legendary Mohali victory (2010)

In one of the most memorable finishes in recent history, VVS Laxman became the hero of a nail-biting one-wicket victory for India, who retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in dramatic fashion in Mohali. Chasing a target of 216 runs, India lost 8 wickets only at the score of 126.  The match was almost in Australia's grasp when Ishant Sharma joined Laxman with 92 runs still required for a victory. The duo added 81 runs to the scorecard but unfortunately Ishant was dismissed with 11 more runs still needed for a win.  Laxman was joined by last wicket partner Pragyan Ojha who nearly got himself out of the very first ball he faced. But fortunately Laxman’s inning yielded result and India registered a thrilling one-wicket victory over Australia.


Latest News from Sports News Desk