The people of Telangana region have been miffed with Centre and the government in Hyderabad over the issue of development and a movement to seek a separate statehood has continued for over six decades.
With a population of over 3.5 crore, the new state comprising mostly the areas of the princely state of Nizam state will have 17 Lok Sabha seats and 119 Assembly seats.
Area: 114,800 sq. km
Population: 3. 52 crore
Per capita income: 69 thousand
Literacy rate: 65 percent

Districts in Telangana: Greater Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda, Mahabubnagar, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Adilabad and Khammam

Rivers: Godavari and Krishna

Background: Telangana means "Land of Telugus" and it was part of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad. Hyderabad State became part of India in 1948 after an operation by the Indian Army as Nizam wanted to keep the state independent. Telangana became a state of Telugu-speaking people and was known as Hyderabad State till 1956 when it was merged with Andhra State, carved out of Madras province, to form Andhra Pradesh.

States Reorganization Commission: The States Reorganization Commission (SRC) was a body constituted by the Government of India in 1953 to recommend the reorganization of state boundaries.


Latest News from India News Desk