The turnout in Kashmir was up from 52.13 percent recorded in 2009, Deputy Election Commissioner Vinod Zutshi said.Another poll panel official Umesh Sinha said that in Jharkhand, the polling percentage was up from 54.85 percent recorded in 2009.

In Kashmir, the three districts of Baramulla, Budgam and Pulwama saw polling percentages of 57, 70 and 43, respectively.

"Polling was peaceful and there was no untoward incident," Zutshi said.

The overall cash seizure for the third phase was Rs. 91.81 lakh. In the eight districts of Jharkhand that voted on Tuesday, there were 5,865 polling stations out of which 271 were critical. Sinha said Rs.1.33 crore in cash was seized from the state.


An estimated 60.89 percent polling was recorded in 17 assembly constituencies of Jharkhand where polling for the third of the five-phase took place on Tuesday.
Official sources said polling was by and large incident-free amidst elaborate security arrangements.
While Silli assembly constituency recorded the highest 74.77 percent of polling, Ranchi registered the lowest at 44.44 percent.
EC sources said Koderma assembly segment recorded 64.80 percent followed by Barkatha 65.10 percent, Barhi 65.27 percent, Barkagaon 60.25 percent, Mandu 60.07 percent, Hazaribagh 58.50 percent, Simaria 60.79 percent, Dhanwar 63.51 percent, Gomia 66.12 percent, Bermo 60.23 percent, Ichagarh 71 percent, Ramgarh 63 percent.
Ranchi, Hatia and Kanke, where polling  ended at 5.00 PM, recorded 55.45 percent and 56.27 percent voting respectivelly.
Earlier, polling for 33 of the 81 seats had been concluded on November 25 and December 2 with 61.92 percent and 64.68 percent voter turnout.
Jharkhand Governor Syed Ahmed and Chief Minister Hemant Soren cast their votes for Ranchi and Hatia Assembly segments.
Eight MLAs are seeking re-election in the third phase.
Polling for 33 of the 81 seats was held on November 25 and December 2, which registered 61.92 percent and 64.68 percent turnout respectively.

Jammu and Kashmir    

Unfazed by the recent militant attacks, a 58 percent voter turnout was recorded in the third phase of the Assembly polls in Jammu and Kashmir on Tuesday that involved 16 seats--all in the Valley--as they continued to ignore boycott calls.
The turnout in the five-phase elections was, however, less compared to the first two phases which recorded 72 per cent polling though it was nine percent higher than that recorded in 2008 Assembly polls. A 49 percent polling was recorded for the same segments in the previous polls.
With today's polling covering three districts, voting has been completed in 49 of the 87 Assembly constituencies. The fourth and fifth phase will be held on December 14 and 20. Counting of votes will be taken up on December 23.
Barring a petrol bomb attack by some unidentified persons at a polling station in Gulmarg, the polling was by and large peaceful in all the constituencies in Baramulla, Pulwama and Budgam districts of north, south and central Kashmir.
Voters including elderly persons lined up at 1,781 polling stations in sub-zero temperatures at many places in the morning to decide the fate of 144 candidates including Chief Minister Omar Abdullah and three of his cabinet colleagues.
Giving the breakup of voting at the end of the polling, Chief Electoral officer Umang Narula said Charar-e-Sharief in Budgam district recorded the highest 82.74 percent against 74.58 in 2008.
Sopore constituency--the home town of hardline Hurriyat Conference Chairman Syed Ali Shah Geelani who spearheaded the boycott campaign--saw the lowest 30 percent polling but it was higher compared to 19.95 percent recorded in 2008.
Narula said 79 percent polling was registered in Baramulla district's Uri segment which witnessed the deadly attack on an army camp Friday leaving 11 security force personnel and six militants dead.
In the last assembly polls, the constituency recorded 81.73 percent voting.
Beerwah constituency in Budgam district from where Omar is locked in a multi-cornered contest, recorded an increase of nearly 17 percent in the polling compared to last assembly elections. The constituency recorded 74.14 percent as against 57.17 percent in 2008.

Latest News from India News Desk