"We have arrested Ashis Ghosh, Bittu Das, Gopal Routh. We will move the lower court with prayer of test identification parade," a senior official of Bidhannagar Police Commissionerate told.
Several reporters and camera persons were allegedly assaulted by 'musclemen' when they covering the polls. The opposition  - CPI(M), Congress and BJP – blamed the ruling Trinamool Congress for the attack and alleged malpractices, but the TMC said CPI(M) instigated the violence.
The West Bengal State Election Commission last evening postponed counting of votes in the election to Bidhannagar as well as Asansol Municipal Corporations in the wake of allegations of large-scale violence by the opposition which also demanded fresh elections.
The counting of votes in the elections was earlier scheduled to be conducted on October 7. The SEC said it would go through reports and video footage of violence from its own sources and also news channels before taking any further decision.

Latest News from State News Desk