Rohtas Additional District and Session judge Umashankar Dwivedi awarded life sentence to the three. The court also imposed a penalty of Rs 16,000 on each of them.

Two others were released for want of evidence in the case, Additional Public Prosecutor Rajesh Kumar said.

The Maoists were accused of attacking a police party in Lohradih under Tilauthu police station of Rohtas district on August 11, 2002, in which four policemen were killed.

The APP informed statements of 25 witnesses were recorded in the case.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk