NCP’s state unit chief Imtilemba Sangtam made the announcement at a press conference here on Monday.    The three NCP MLAs include state party president Imtilemba Sangtam, former home minister TM Lotha and first timer Mhonlumo Kikon.

Parliamentary Secretary for Land Revenue, Village Guard, Dobashis and Gaon Burahs, L Khumo, is the only remaining NCP legislator in the assembly while the number of BJP which was having just one MLA rose to four.

Imtilemba said they took the decision to strengthen the DAN government.     

Asserting that since the BJP had come to power at the national level, Lotha said, “We wanted to strengthen the BJP in Nagaland to bring about more development in the state."

When asked whether the state NCP had consultations with the central leaders in Delhi, Lotha said, “If consultations are to be held before joining, they would never want us to join the BJP."

State BJP president M Chuba expressed happiness on the joining of the three NCP legislators to the party and expressed hope that the functioning of the party would be strengthened in the state.

This is second such joining of elected NCP members to other party in the state. The first was in DAN-II ministry in 2011 when both elected members Chumben Murry and P Pangyu Phom joined the NPF.

Currently, Dan has 51 MLAs, Congress 8 and NCP 1 in the 60-member house.


Latest News from State News Desk