As per a leading English daily, over 30,000 police and para-military personnel have been deputed to ensure smooth polls. The Army is also said to be sanitizing the areas to prevent any militant strike.

According to sources, out of the total 1,612 polling stations, 1,018 have been declared “hypersensitive” and 498 “sensitive”, leaving only 96 in the normal category.

The police have reportedly detained hundreds of separatist political activists and other potential “trouble-makers” and “stone-pelters” ahead of the polling and have set up makeshift security check-points with the CRPF in sensitive areas.

The constituency is witnessing a multi-cornered contest with ruling National Conference fielding sitting MP Shariefud Din Shariq and opposition PDP former deputy chief minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig.

Former Prasar Bharti officer Abdul Salam Bajad of the Peoples Conference, headed by former separatist leader Sajad Gani Lone and Awami Ittehad Party leader Abdul Rashid Sheikh, are also in the fray.


Latest News from State News Desk