Colombo: Tillakaratne Dilshan was on Thursday retained captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team for its home series against Australia next month.

Dilshan, who was Sri Lanka captain in the Test and ODI series in England from May 26 to July 9, will lead in the three Tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20 games against Australia, Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

The first game is a T20 clash on August 6.

The squad for the Test matches is yet to be announced, but yesterday SLC issued the names of 20 players who will be in the squad for the ODIs and the T20 Internationals.

Dilshan was handed the captaincy for the England tour in the wake of Kumar Sangakarra’s decision to resign after the World Cup.

The Squad for ODIs and T20 Internationals: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Jeevan Mendis, Chamara Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekera, Isuru Udana, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara and Sachithra Senanayake.