The bypoll was necessiated due to the death of sitting TDP MLA M Venkataramana.

The main contest is between Venkataramana's widow M Suguna and Congress nominee R Sridevi.

The opposition YSR Congress did not field its candidate, as per a tradition of letting a family member of the sitting MLA get elected unanimously in the event of the legislator's death.

However, the Congress and several other Independents entered the fray, making the election inevitable.

Tight security arrangements have been made for the bypoll and its web-casting is also being done.

Latest News from State News Desk