Party's state unit secretary G Ramakrishnan said the state executive had decided in this regard. "TK Rangarajan is our candidate," he told reporters here.

He thanked AIADMK for extending support to his party, which came days after he led a party delegation to meet Chief Minister Jayalalithaa at her Kodanad camp office on January 21.

While announcing four of her party candidates for the February 7 biennial elections on Thursday, Jayalalithaa had also extended her party's support to CPI-M.

Ramakrishnan said CPI and All India Forward Bloc have also assured their support to Rangarajan. CPI-M and CPI have 10 and eight MLAs, respectively, in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly. AIFB has one legislator.

Rangarajan will file his nomination papers on January 27, Ramakrishnan added.

Rangarajan was elected to the Rajya Sabha in 2008 and his term ends on April 2.

Asked about Lok Sabha alliance prospects with AIADMK, Ramakrishnan said that his party was favourably disposed towards an electoral tie-up but added no talks had taken place between the two parties.

CPI-M, besides CPI, had entered into an alliance with AIADMK to fight the 2009 Lok Sabha elections and 2011 Tamil Nadu Assembly polls.


Latest News from State News Desk