Here, we bring you the list of the politicians who held Office of Chief Minister for the longest period of time:

1. Jyoti Basu: Former chief minister of West Bengal, Jyoti Basu was the longest serving CM in India. Basu held the CM office for more than two decades (1977-2000). Basu is one of the founding fathers of the CPI (M) and the left movement in India.

2. Narendra Modi: Narendra Damodardas Modi was the Chief Minister of Gujarat before he became the Prime Minister of the country. He became the Chief Minister of Gujarat in the year 2001. Narendra Modi was the longest serving CM of Gujarat.

3. Sheila Dikshit: Sheila Dikshit became the Chief Minister of Delhi in the year 1998. She remained in the office for 15 years. Sheila Dikshit won three consecutive Delhi elections. Her political career started in 1984, when she represented the Kannauj Parliamentary Constituency in Uttar Pradesh. At the United Nations Commission on Status of Women for five years (1984–1989), Dikshit represented India.

4. Chandrababu Naidu: The 13th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Chandrababu Naidu became the longest serving CM of the state since 1996. Chandrababu Naidu is the president of Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which is an Andhra Pradesh-based regional party. He is well known for his vision and tact for development.

5. Gegong Apang: Gegong Apang became Arunachal  Pradesh Chief Minister in 1980. He held the office till 1999. However, he had to resign from the post of CM . In October 2004 he was re-elected until April 2007 . In 2003 he was elected the party president of the newly formed political party, the Arunachal Congress, which was a coalition party formed by the union of many other regional parties.