Also in the fray at the Noida Golf Course will be Mukesh Kumar and Shankar Das in the seventh and final event of the 2014 Super Series. The tournament carries a total prize purse of Rs 40 lakh.

Rashid Khan is the reigning Rolex Rankings champion and Chikkarangappa is current Rolex Rankings and Super Series leader.

The top foreign players in the field are Sri Lankans Anura Rohana, K Prabagaran and N Thangaraja, Australian Kunal Bhasin, Shiva Ram Shrestha of Nepal and Bangladesh's Md Zamal Hossain Mollah.

The local challenge will be led by professionals from the Noida Golf Course such as Arjun Singh Chaudhri, Rahul Bajaj, Gaurav Pratap Singh, Vikrant Chopra, Pradeep Kumar and Raju Singh, to name a few.

The Super Series is currently led by Chikkarangappa who has a total of 3374.94 points. Rashid Khan is in second place with 3249.50 points followed by C Muniyappa in third with 1914.50 points. Anura Rohana is placed fourth with 1888.75 points and fifth-placed Om Prakash Chouhan has 1667.10 points.

The winner of the PGTI Noida Masters stands to earn 2082 points. The Super Series champion at the end of the Noida event will earn a bonus prize of Rs. 30 lakh.

Padamjit Sandhu, director, PGTI, said, "The PGTI Noida Masters witnesses the culmination of the fiercely contested Super Series which added a new dimension to the tour this year. With quite a few names still in contention for the bonus prize of Rs. 30 lakh, we expect another week of high-intensity competition. We wish the players all the best and thank the Noida Golf Course for partnering with us in staging this event."

Latest News from Sports News Desk