"We have been honouring top performers in the Lok Sabha for the past four years with Sansad Ratna Award. Their performance is rated based on their participation in debates, introduction of private member bills and the number of questions raised in the Lok Sabha," K Srinivasan, chairman, Prime Point Foundation, said on Tuesday.

He said there are two categories of awardees - overall top performers and top performers among women (Sansad Mahila Ratna).

To a question whether he is jumping the gun as the 15th Lok Sabha is yet to come to an end, Srinivasan said: "The awardees are announced based on the data available till December 18, 2013. As per our estimates, there is no possibility of any other Lok Sabha member overtaking those on our list of awardees."

"If any such rare thing happens, then we will award that member later," he said.

The winners of Sansad Ratna Award under the overall category are: Anandrao Adsul of the Shiv Sena from Maharashtra (total score 1,254); Arjun Ram Meghwal of BJP from Rajasthan (score 1,147); Hansraj G Ahir of BJP from Maharastra (score 1,111); SS Ramasubbu of Congress from Tamil Nadu (score 1,186);  Gajanan Babar of Shiv Sena from Maharashtra (score 1,150); Asaduddin Owaisi of AIMIM from Andhra Pradesh (score 1,121); Pradeep Kumar Majhi of Congress from Odisha (1,070); Shivaji Adhalrao Patil of Shiv Sena from Maharashtra (score 1,044) and Eknath Mahadeo Gaikwad of Congress from Maharashtra (score 1,003).

The three women MPs who would be getting the Sansad Mahila Ratna Award are: Supriya Sule of the Nationalist Congress from Maharashtra (score 771); Ratna Singh of Congress from Uttar Pradesh (score 689) and Rama Devi of BJP from Bihar (score 687).

"These are the beauty dozen of the 15th Lok Sabha. Out of the top 12 performers, six are from Maharashtra," Srinivasan said.

According to him, Adsul, Ahir and Ramasubbu have been top performers throughout the 15th Lok Sabha.

He said the MPs will be honoured at the Chennai Press Club on February 22.


Latest News from India News Desk