Sitting Congress MP Takam Sanjoy is pitted against BJP nominee Kiren Rijiju, who won the seat in 2004 Lok Sabha elections. Rijiju lost the seat to Sanjoy in 2009 by a margin of only 1,314 votes.

After the poll debacle in 2009, he joined the Congress for a brief period but later switched over to his original party.

Riding the wave that is in favour of BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, Rijiju is all set to provide a tough fight to Sanjoy this time.

Jalley Sonam, who switched over to PPA before announcement of the polls with apprehension of not getting Congress ticket despite being a loyal party worker, will certainly be a factor in the election as he would fragment the Congress votes.

Aam Aadmi Party nominee Habung Payeng, NCP aspirant Gicho Kabak, Lok Bharati contestant Taba Taku, Trinamool Congress candidate Gumjum Haider and Independent contestant Subu Kechimay may play spoilers for both the national parties.

The state goes to poll on April 9 for both the 60 member Assembly and two Lok Sabha seats.


Latest News from State News Desk