Governor Ashwani Kumar administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 62-year-old first time Chief Minister and the 11 members of Council Of Ministers at the Rajbhavan.

The NDF-led ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN-III) government was formed in March 2013. Neiphiu Rio demitted office on Friday after being Chief Minister for over 11 years following his victory in the recent Lok Sabha polls.

Zeliang inducted six new Cabinet ministers and retained five. The retained ministers are Noke Wangnao, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Kiyanilie Peseyie, G Kaito and Y Patton.

He promoted parliamentary secretaries C Kipili Sangtam, Dr Benjongliba, CL John, Nuklutoshi, Niekiesalie Nicky Kire to the ministry and the deputy chairman state planning board in Rio;s government, P Longon.

Among those who have been dropped from the cabinet are Minister for Health and Family Welfare Imkong L Imchen, Minister for School Education CM Chang, Minister for Tourism EE Pangteang, Minister for Industries and Commerce S Pangyuh Phom and Minister for Youth Resources and Sports Merentoshi R Jamir.

NPF's top leaders and senior government officials attended the swearing-in function.


Latest News from State News Desk