"Today (Saturday) notification was issued for the election to the 30-seat TTAADC. The polls will be held on May 3. Votes will be counted on May 6," State Election Commissioner Sanjay Kumar Rakesh told reporters here.

He said with the issuance of formal notification, filing of nominations had began from Saturday and it would continue till April 11.

A total of 758,554 electors, including 375,117 women, are eligible to vote. Of the 30 seats, 28 are filled through direct election and two members are nominated by the government.

Twenty seven seats are reserved for tribals. Rakesh added for the first time votes in the TTAADC polls will be cast through EVMs (electronic voting machines).

The TTAADC was formed in January 1982 under the seventh schedule of the constitution and its authority was upgraded by amending the sixth schedule of the constitution in August 1984 to protect and safeguard the political, economic and cultural interests of tribals, who make up one third of Tripura's 3.7 million population.

Latest News from State News Desk