Kolkata: Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Wednesday retained the Howrah Lok Sabha seat, with former international footballer Prasun Banerjee defeating CPI-M's Sridip Bhattacharya by over 27,000 votes.

Congress candidate Sanatan Mukherjee finished a distant third in the June 2 by-poll.

Of the seven assembly segments, Banerjee maintained leads in five -- Shibpur, Bally, Panchla, Howrah Central and Howrah North.

Bhattacharya was ahead in Howrah South and Sankrail. The by-poll was necessitated by the death of Trinamool MP Ambica Banerjee on April 25.

Mamata elated over TMC’s victory

Buoyed by TMC victory in the Howrah Lok Sabha by-poll, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said her party did not require Congress and through their verdict, people have given a message to go it alone.

"Congress requires us. We don't need Congress. The people in Howrah have given the message that we should go alone. Our victory reflected the mahajot (grand alliance) of people against all immoral alliance. Our's was a solo fight. It ushered in a new arithmetic, a new chapter," Banerjee said.

"Congress is zero everywhere. Left also has no existence. If I understand politics, the by-poll result also indicates that despite hobnobbing with the Congress, Left will be zero,” she said.


Latest News from West Bengal News Desk