The candidates have been announced for seven seats in Assam, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand and Odisha.

Notable names in the list are Parvez Ahmed, son of late president of India Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed and who will be contesting from Barpeta in Assam, and former judge Ishrat Hashim Kuddus who will contest from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh.

"No party, be it the BJP or the Congress, will get absolute majority and Trinamool will play a decisive role in formation of the next government at the centre," party general secretary Mukul Roy said while announcing the names.

Besides West Bengal, the Trinamool has fielded candidates in Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Delhi, Sikkim and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Meanwhile, party supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will hit the campaign trail and share the stage with Bengali filmstar Dev at a rally in Midnapore.

Dev has been fielded from Ghatal parliamentary constituency in West Midnapore district.


Latest News from State News Desk