Among those selected is Firoja Bibi, who is the lawmaker from Nandigram in East Midnapore district.

Murshidabad district's Bhagwangola legislator Chand Mohammed, who switched over to the ruling Trinamool Congress from the Samajwadi Party, has also been chosen.

Banerjee said as the state was short of ministers, the parliamentary secretaries would be assigned work.

The West Bengal Parliamentary Secretaries (Appointment, Salaries, Allowances and Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill was passed in December 2012 and 13 parliamentary secretaries were appointed after that.


Latest News from State News Desk