Chennai: Five police officials including two women have been selected to receive the prestigious Gandhi Adigal Police Medal on Republic Day-2013 for their outstanding work in curbing illicit liquor in the Tamil Nadu.

Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa has ordered awarding of the medals to women officers N Devarani, Superintendent of Police, Central Investigation Unit, Chennai and  S Vimala, Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police, Prohibition Enforcement Wing, Chennai (South).

Other recipients of the medal would be I Eswaran, Superintendent of Police, Vellore District, K Sakthivel, Special Sub-Inspector of Police, Prohibition Enforcement Wing, Harur, Dharmapuri District and K Stalin Chandrasekar, Head Constable, Prohibition Enforcement Wing, Madhavaram, Chennai, a government release said.

The recipients would receive their medals from the Chief Minister on the Republic Day next year. The medal also carries a cash award of Rs 20,000.


Latest News from State News Desk