As the separate Telangana and residual state of Andhra Pradesh are to come into existence from June 2nd, the Election Commission has also decided to conduct the Assembly elections in the undivided state.

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath said that the commission will conduct the elections as per the description of the state as of Wednesday.

Elections to 42 Lok Sabha seats and the 294-member assembly will be held in two phases - April 30th and May 7th.

In the first phase, Telangana will go to polls while voting in Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra (Seemandhra) will be held on May 7th.

Telangana has 17 Lok Sabha and 119 Assembly constituencies, while Seemandhra has 25 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 175 Assembly segments.

"Whoever is elected MLA as per the law will automatically become member of the concerned state," Sampath said.

According to the state chief electoral officer, 6.24 crore voters are expected to exercise their right to franchise in the elections compared to 5.78 crore voters in 2009 - an increase of about 46 lakh.

The bill for formation of Telangana as India's 29th state was passed by Parliament on February 20th.

President Pranab Mukherjee gave his assent to the bill on March 1st and on the same day the government issued a notification but did not mention the formation day of the two states.

The union home ministry on Tuesday set on June 2nd as the formation day for the two states.

The centre last week brought Andhra Pradesh under President's rule and kept the assembly under suspended animation following the resignation of Kiran Kumar Reddy as the Chief Minister protesting against the bifurcation.

The term of the state assembly ends on June 2nd.


Latest News from State News Desk