Mumbai: Shiv Sena’s new skipper Uddhav Thackeray has finally decided to assume the mantle left vacant by his father. The party executive president is set to step out of Matoshree and involve himself in the day-to-day activities.

A source close to the Thackeray family said that Uddhav will officially take charge of Shiv Sena in January as party president. “He (Uddhav) will not be called Shiv Sena supremo (Shiv Sena pramukh), because he believes only his father Balasaheb deserved that honour,” he said.

A unanimous resolution is expected to be passed in the Sena’s Maha Adhiveshan in January in Nashik. Hundreds of office bearers from across the state are likely to attend.

Uddhav has also planned a statewide tour, which starts on December 3, to fortify Shiv Sena from inside and out.

Before the coronation ceremony, sources say, a meeting of trustees of Prabodhan Prakashan — under which the party mouthpiece Saamana is published — will be held to appoint Uddhav’s wife Rashmi Thackeray as a trustee while he will be promoted as editor. Bal Thackeray’s name will continue to appear as founder-editor on the journal’s masthead.

Touring the state

Sources say that on Monday, Uddhav and Rashmi will seek the blessings of Mahalaxmi before the former assumes his new responsibilities. Uddhav’s statewide tour will first take him to Kolhapur city.

Sena leaders Sanjay Raut, Manohar Joshi, Subhash Desai, Gajanan Kirtikar, Divakar Raote and Ramdas Kadam will accompany him. During his tour, Uddhav will meet zilla pramukhs, taluka pramukhs, MLAs and other office bearers from the districts and guide them on how to work harder and more efficiently.

Subhash Desai, senior Sena leader who is also one of the trustees of Saamana, refused to reveal much. Though he confirmed details of the executive president’s tour, he remained silent on the matter of appointment of trustees. “This process will go on and I don’t want to speak about it,” Desai said.

Uddhav’s tour plan

December 3: Western Maharashtra districts- Pune, Satara, Sangli, Kolhapur and Solupur

December 5: North Maharashtra districts-Nasik, Jalgaon, Dhule, Nandurbar and Ahmednagar

December 7: Konkan districts- Raigarh, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg

December 14: East and West Vidarbh districts- Nagpur, Gadhchiroli, Gondia, Bhandara, Chandrapur, Amravati, Yawatmal, Buldhana, Wardha, Akola and Washim

December 16: Marathwada districts- Nanded, Aurangabad, Parbhani, Jalna, Latur, Beed, Osmanabad and Hingoli


Latest News from India News Desk