Senior BSP leader and Uttar Pradesh Assembly Speaker Sukhdev Rajbhar is contesting from Didarganj constituency of Azamgarh district in Uttar Pradesh.

Four-time MLA from from Lalganj seat, Rajbhar chose to shift from his traditional seat owing to delimitation. In 2007, Rajbhar had defeated BJP candidate Narendra Singh by a huge margin.

In a changed scenario, senior BSP leader will have to face Adil Sheikh of the Samajwadi Party from Dariganj seat. This time, the BJP has fielded Shyam Sundar Chouhan from the seat, while the Congress has fielded Mohammed Athahar on the prestigious seat.

Rajbhar, close aide of the Chief Minister Mayawati, was instrumental in realizing the dream of BSP’s famous social engineering formula in 2007.