The by-polls to 12 assembly seats was necessitated due to BJP MLAs got elected to the Lok Sabha in recently concluded general elections. Whereas by-elections to Mainpuri Parliamentary seat will be held as SP chief Mulayam Singh quit this seat and retained Azamgarh.

The by-elections will test the credibility of BJP whose MLAs were winner of all the 12 seats. On the other hand, SP will face an uphill task in Mainpuri constituency where the saffron party will be keen to come up with a tough challenge.

In such a scenario, several factors like inclination of electorate will also depend on a considerable extent on the traditional vote-banks of BSP. As there will be no BSP candidate in the fray, the voters will have to choose between SP and BJP.

Mulayam Singh Yadav won from Mainpuri seat by a margin of more than three lakh votes and the constituency is counted among one of the safest SP seats as no other party has yet been able to impregnate this ‘fort’.

Jatavs and Muslims, who form a major poll equation of sorts for the BSP in Western Uttar Pradesh, will have to choose either SP or BJP as several seats like Gautam Buddh Nagar, Bijnour, Kairana, Saharanpur and Thakurdwara will see a head-on contest between both these parties.

At the same time, Congress, which tasted one of the worst-ever defeats in the Lok Sabha elections, is not looking in a position to contest the by-polls.

However, the battle might become triangular on Lucknow East seat as Congress is expected to put up its candidate against SP and BJP.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk