Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh government has issued a fresh notification for creation of Amethi as a new district which will include three tehsils of Sultanpur and one of Rae Bareli.
The district headquarters of Amethi will be Gauriganj, Principal Secretary, Revenue, Kishan Singh Atoria said on Friday. Sultanpur's Amethi, Gauri Ganj and Musafirkhana tehsils and Rae Bareli's Tiloi would be part of Amethi district, he said.
Some revenue villages of Maharajganj tehsil of Rae Bareli have been included in Tiloi tehsil of Amethi and in return some villages of Tiloi have been included in Maharajganj,
Atoria said.

It is to be noted that the Allahabad High Court had in April 2013 quashed the UP government notification of July 2010 that paved way for creation of Amethi (then ChhatrapatiShaujiMaharajNagar) as a separate district.
Amethi is Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi's parliamentary constituency, while Rae Bareli is Congress President Sonia Gandhi's constituency.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk