The second phase of UP polls covers Eastern Uttar Pradesh or Poorwanchal. Voting for a total of 59 seats falling in nine districts of the state is due to be held between 7am to 5pm on 11th February. A total of 1,098 candidates are in the electoral fray and as per the analysis of UP Election Watch, there are 118 candidates who have criminal cases pending against them and 55 of them are faced with serious criminal offences like murder, attempt to murder, kidnapping, robbery and extortion. 
The main contestants for the second phase of state elections include ruling BSP state president and UP Minister Swami Prasad Maurya, BJP state president Surya Pratap Sahi, Assembly Speaker and BSP candidate Sukhdeo Rajbhar, former BJP state president Ramapati Ram Tripathi, SP leaders Ambika Choudhury and P K Rai, Peace Party chief Dr Ayub and jailed mafia-turned politician Mukhtar Ansari. Last time in 2007, there were a total of 63 seats in this region of which ruling BSP had bagged 30 seats, main opposition party SP won 21 seats, BJP-seven, Congress two and Independents and others had won three.

Putting its guard high to avert disturbances and illegitimate activities on the polling day, the administration is going to seal the international borders of the state with Nepal and inter-state border with Bihar from Thursday evening to till the end of the polling. The nine districts of Poorvanchal which are scheduled to witness polls in the second phase on 11th February include Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia and Ghazipur.