Ensuring victory on the Rampur Khas assembly seat in Pratapgarh district of Uttar Pradesh is a nominal thing for Congress Legislative Party Leader Pramod Tiwari who has been representing the seat since 1980 by winning eight-time in a row. Only margin matters for him on the high profile seat of Rampur Khas.

In 2007, Pramod Tiwari defeated Kunwar Viggyat Singh of the Samajwadi Party by huge margin. However this time the SP has not fielded its candidate against Pramod who is sharing good relations with party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Hiramani Patel is contesting on the Bahujan Samaj Party ticket while the Bharatiya Janata Party fielded Dudhnath Verma against Pramod from the high profile seat. Both the BSP and the BJP are trying hard to make the battle three cornered. It would be interesting to see Pramod’s victory margin in this election.