With Uttar Pradesh Pradesh Congress Committee president Rita Joshi filing nomination as a party candidate from Lucknow Cantt seat for 2012 assembly polls, the seat became the high profile one in the state.

In 2007, Rita unsuccessfully fought from Allahabad South seat. In the 2009 general election, Rita lost to Bharatiya Janata Party nominee Lalji Tandon from Lucknow seat.
BJP candidate Suresh Chandra Tiwari defeated Arivind Kumar Tripathi Alias Guddu of the Bahujan Samaj Party in 2007 from Lucknow Cantt assembly seat.

This time the BJP once again has reposed faith in Suresh Chandra Tiwari, while the BSP fielded Naveen Chand Dwivedi from the seat. The SP gave ticket to Mrs Suresh Chowhan. Both the BSP and the SP are trying to make the fight multi-cornered.

Political observers say that there seems to be a straight fight between Rita and Tiwari on the prestigious seat. Lucknow has been the fiefdom of the BJP as the former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee represented the seat in Lok Sabha for the record 5 times in a row.