Bahraich is the high profile seat for the first phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls which is due on February 8. Given his track record from this seat, senior Samajwadi Party leader Waqar Ahmed Shah is quite hopeful to reach the state Assembly for the fifth time.

Waqar, a four time MLA from his traditional Bahraich seat, had defeated Vinod Tripathi of Bahujan Samaj Party in 2007 Assembly polls. However, the BSP supremo Mayawati has reposed her faith in Mohammad Musharraf this time for this prestigious seat.

Bahraich has been the fiefdom of the SP. It can be gauged from the fact that despite massive anti-incumbency against the Mulayam Singh government in 2007, Waqar managed to reenter the Assembly from here. 

Congress has fielded Chandra Shekhar Singh while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has allotted ticket to Anupam Jaiswal. Political observers say that there seems to be a direct fight between the SP and the BSP.